CPH PIX announces this year's winners

Ralitza Petrova. Photo: Yann Houlberg Andersen/CPH PIX.

The main prize New Talent Grand PIX is awarded to the debuting Bulgarian filmmaker Ralitza Petrova for the film 'Godless', while Nordisk Film Fonden's Best Children's Film went to Swedish Alexandra-Therese Keining's 'Girls Lost'.
The winner of Politiken Audience Award was 'Heartstone' by Icelandic Gudmundur A. Gudmundsson, and Politiken Fonden's Best Short Film For Children went to 'Ztripes' by Danish Amalie Næsby.

The winner of New Talent Grand PIX

The international jury Philippe Grandrieux (FR), Erika Wasserman (SE) and Manuel Alberto Claro (DK) have selected Bulgarian Ralitza Petrova as winner of CPH PIX's main competition, New Talent Grand PIX. 10 debuting directors from all over the world were nominated for the title and 10,000 euro.

'Godless' is a Bulgarian film coproduced with Denmark and France.

The jury members said:

"We feel very honoured to be presented to such a strong line up of accomplished debut films. We believe, that cinema needs to be created from a strong necessity, that films are to be made with heart and trust that reality is powerful enough. It needs to involve a certain degree of risk taking - otherwise it is just playing with tools. We were looking for a filmmaker and talent who is not afraid to grab the world with the possibilities of cinema itself and use all its means to invite us inside this process. In such kind of cinema, there is no hierarchy: a scene of eating a soup is shot with the same intensity as a scene of a sex orgy. That is why we have decided to award the New Talent Grand PIX to the daring and interesting voice whose future films we are looking forward to look out for - Ralitza Petrova."

The winner of Nordisk Film Fondens Bedste Børnefilm

For the first time, the Nordisk Film Fonden's Best Children's Film and 3,000 euro was handed out during CPH PIX - as part of the festival's programme for schools and families BUSTER.

A jury consisting of four kids between ages 11 and 14 has pointed out their favorite film between the 10 nominees. The winner was 'Girls Lost' by Swedish Alexandra-Therese Keining:

"We have chosen this film, partly because it uses different techniques to express emotion, but more importantly because of the message presented to the viewer. The taboo themes surrounding gender identity and sexuality are relevant for most teenagers. The film stays engaging and entertaining to the end. It might be difficult to understand for children under the recommended age, but it touches subjects that are relevant for discussion. The themes contribute to a wild, surreal and heart wrenching film experience worthy of the title Nordisk Film Fonden's Best Children's Film 2016. We are of course talking about 'Girls Lost' by Alexandra-Therese Keining!"

The winner of Politiken Audience Award

During the first eight days of the festival the audience have voted for their favorite among 12 films. Third year in a row, an Icelandic director won the award - the debuting Gudmundur A. Gudmundsson, whose Danish-produced feature film 'Heartstone' delivers a strong portrait of life in a small Icelandic fishing village.

The second place went to the melodrama 'The 9th Life of Louis Drax' directed by French Alexandre Aja, while third place went to '24 weeks' by German Anne Zohra Berrached.

The winner of Politiken Fonden's Best Short Film For Children

Danish Amalie Næsby's 'Ztripes' is this year's winner of Politiken Fonden's Best Short Film For Children. The jury member Helle Strandgaard Jensen says about the motivation:

"The winner is a charming film where visuals, sound and narrative create a heart-warming story that is both fun and relevant. The protagonist is annoyingly charming and irresistible as he dances us through a tale of friendship and the courage to march to the beat of one's own drum. The jutlandic voice-over is a daring choice that gives the film an edge, making it stand out from the crowd. Politiken Fonden's Best Short Film for Children and a cash prize of 2,000 euro goes to Amalie Næsby's 'Ztripes'."

This year's short film jury consists of Charlotte Brodthagen, director and producer at the production company Made By Us, Helle Strandgaard Jensen, Assistant Professor in History at the University of Aarhus specializing in childhood- and media history, and Nikolaj Tarp, director, scriptwriter and dramaturge on film and theater.

More from CPH PIX